Bobcat Rank

The Cub Scout Bobcat requirements are the first ones completed by all new Cub Scouts (except Lions). The Bobcat badge requirements are meant to demonstrate that the youth is making a commitment to participating in the Cub Scout program.

Bobcat Advancement Requirements

Every Cub Scout will complete the Bobcat requirements, which include:

  1. Learn and say the Scout Oath, with help if needed.

  2. Learn and say the Scout Law, with help if needed.

  3. Show the Cub Scout sign. Tell what it means.

  4. Show the Cub Scout handshake. Tell what it means.

  5. Say the Cub Scout motto. Tell what it means.

  6. Show the Cub Scout salute. Tell what it means.

  7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide.

Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law;

To help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

Cub Scout Motto

Do Your Best!

Scout Law

A Scout is:

  • Trustworthy

  • Loyal

  • Helpful

  • Friendly

  • Courteous

  • Kind

  • Obedient

  • Cheerful

  • Thrifty

  • Brave

  • Clean

  • Reverent

Cub Scout Salute

Give the Scout salute by forming the Scout sign with your right hand and then bringing that hand upward until your forefinger touches the brim of your hat or the arch of your right eyebrow.

The Scout salute shows respect. Use it to salute the flag of the United States.

Cub Scout Sign

The Cub Scout sign is made with the right arm held high and straight up above the shoulder, with the index and middle fingers forming a V. The other two fingers are held with the thumb.

Cub Scout Handshake

Hold out your right hand just as you always do to shake hands. Put your first two fingers along the inside of the other boys wrist.

The Cub handshake means that you "help" and that you "obey" the Law of the Pack.

About the Bobcat Rank

The Bobcat rank was introduced in 1938 as the entry-level rank for every new Cub Scout. No matter what age or grade a boy or girl joins Cub Scouting, he or she must earn the Bobcat Badge before advancing to the rank of Tiger, Wolf, Bear, Webelos, or Arrow of Light.