Lion Rank

Kindergartners work toward the Lion rank. The Lion rank is earned by completing the five required adventures as described below. Although participation with an adult partner is required for all Lion awards, recognition items are for the Scouts only.

Lion Advancement Requirements

To earn the Lion rank, the Scout must complete the five core Lion Required Adventures.

Lion Required Adventures

Animal Kingdom

Fun on the Run

King of the Jungle

Lion's Honor

Mountain Lion

Lion Elective Adventures

After earning the Lion badge, a Lion Scout can work on the remaining 12 Lion electives until finishing kindergarten (or turning 6 years old).

The Lion Scout can choose elective adventures and discover new hobbies or learn skills that will be useful during the Scouting adventure. When an elective adventure is completed, an additional adventure loop to be worn on the belt is awarded.

Build It Up, Knock It Down

Gizmos and Gadgets

I'll Do It Myself

On Your Mark

Pick My Path

Ready, Set, Grow!

Rumble in the Jungle

"As a Lion, your kindergartner will make friends, laugh loud, gain confidence, discover nature, and most of all—have fun! They’ll experience the Scouting concepts of character development, leadership, citizenship, and personal fitness through engaging and exciting adventures!"

"Kindergarteners will have a blast exploring the world around them in ways that fuel their imagination and creativity. Together, they’ll take their first steps down the path to success. Adventure awaits."